About Us

Our History

The Ben Davis Marching Band is known as one of the longest-running Marching programs in Indiana. Founded in 1918,  we’re a 9-Time winner of the Indiana State Field Show Championship, a 5-time winner of the Indiana State Fair Marching Contest, and a 14-time ISSMA State Champion.

We set the Indiana State Record for the most consecutive Class A State Championship wins, with 5 in a row from 1984-1988, and went on to win again in 1993.

We have performed for six U.S. Presidents – Dwight D. Eisenhower, John F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson, Richard M. Nixon, Gerald R. Ford, and Ronald Reagan, and we represented the State of Indiana at the 1960 and 1984 Presidential Inaugurations.

In 2012, we marched in the Tournament of Roses Parade in Pasadena, California for the 7th time.

An annual Ben Davis Bands Tradition is marching in the Indy 500 Festival Parade, and we have appeared in the opening ceremonies for the Indy 500 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway several times.

At the 2000 Bands of America (BOA) Grand National Championship, we received the Al Castronovo “Mental Attitude” Esprit De Corps Award.

We’ve also appeared in many major performances and parades, including: